The Belgariad is David Eddings's first fanatsy novel. It is comprised up of 5 books and is published by Del Ray in 1982. Because the title was so very popular, a sequel installment called the Mallorean was released, telling the story of our main protagonists as adults. Other installments are the Beheliom and the Tamul, which have no relations to the series The Belgariad.